Snake Oil | Dying of Sunsets

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
Black Sabbath CAN Miles Davis

More Artists From
United States - Connecticut

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Psychedelic Rock: Progressive Rock Moods: Type: Experimental
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.

Dying of Sunsets

by Snake Oil

As with previous releases, the new album draws from elements of progressive rock, psychedelia, and 70's fusion, but stripped down arrangements and the addition of vocals take this album to new starry heights.
Genre: Rock: Psychedelic
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Pattern of Skulls
4:51 $0.99
2. The Cloud Above
4:09 $0.99
3. Distance from Ferns
9:29 $0.99
4. Dying of Sunsets
6:12 $0.99
5. Vowels and Wind
7:21 $0.99
6. Blood Moon
9:12 $0.99
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
Snake Oil was established in 2011 by Jason Labbe and began as a collective of over a dozen musicians, living all over the country, who used home recording technologies and file sharing to collaborate on three hard-to-categorize instrumental releases: a self-titled LP, a 7” EP, and a second LP titled The Train is White and the Moon is Strong. Over the next several years, a core line-up of musicians emerged and Snake Oil regularly took to the stage, sharing bills with bands as diverse as Mates of State, Acid Mothers Temple, and Deerhoof. After a short hiatus, Snake Oil has come back with a new line-up and a new full-length LP, Dying of Sunsets, on Safety Meeting Records. Departing from their usual recording process, the new LP was tracked live to 2” tape at Brooklyn’s Seaside Lounge by Charles Burst and Jason Labbe. This record also marks a drastic stylistic change for the band: the new material features vocals by keyboardist Emily Lee (Shearwater, Loma, Stephen Brodsky) and new guitarist Kelly L’Heureux (Atrina). Their vocally-driven arrangements act as compliment and counterpoint to the fuzzy psychedelic instrumentals, continuing to draw on influences ranging from Sabbath to CAN to Bitches Brew.



to write a review