The Flying Luttenbachers | Cataclysm

Go To Artist Page

Recommended if You Like
John Zorn Mike Patton The Dillinger Escape Plan

Album Links PayPlay Apple iTunes Bitmunk Emusic Nexhit Tradebit Voeveo - Get it for your mobile MusicIsHere

More Artists From
United States - California - SF

Other Genres You Will Love
Rock: Math Rock Rock: Progressive Rock Moods: Type: Experimental
Sell your music everywhere
There are no items in your wishlist.


by The Flying Luttenbachers

The Flying Luttenbachers "Cataclysm" features 9 tracks of intense, modernistic rock. For close to 15 years, this notorious instrumental unit has been terrorizing puny earthlings with a high energy, amorphous fusion of all things extreme and dissonant.
Genre: Rock: Math Rock
Release Date: 

We'll ship when it's back in stock

Order now and we'll ship when it's back in stock, or enter your email below to be notified when it's back in stock.
Continue Shopping
available for download only
Share to Google +1

To listen to tracks you will need to update your browser to a recent version.

  Song Share Time Download
1. Cataclysm
4:50 album only
2. Demonic Velocities
4:16 album only
3. Insektoid Horror
4:25 album only
4. The Elimination of Incompetence
5:45 album only
5. From Oblivion
5:53 album only
6. Interstellar War
4:49 album only
7. Movement Four of L'ascension
9:07 album only
8. Regime Part One
11:43 album only
9. Regime Part Two
2:46 album only
Downloads are available as MP3-320 files.


Album Notes
this is the official reissue of Cataclysm, a CD-R version packaged in a sumptuous four-color mini-gatefold sleeve. The music is identical to the original issue, but the layout and packaging are different.

The ultimate sonic battle between The Behemoth and The Void!!! The cosmos are shaken and nothing survives!
58 minutes of all-new studio tracks of unflinching rock modernism

For close to 15 years, this notorious instrumental unit has been terrorizing puny earthlings with a high energy, amorphous fusion of all things extreme and dissonant: hardcore punk intensity, death metal speed and bombast, progressive rock complexity, free jazz frenzy, no wave skronk, electronic noise and modern classical abstraction with subtle touches of non-western music like Balinese gamelan and Noh.

On this new release the group consists of drummer/founding member Weasel Walter, bassist Mike Green (also of Burmese), tandem guitarists Ed Rodriguez (Gorge Trio) and Mick Barr (the virtuoso behind Orthrelm/Octis/ Ocrilim). This incarnation of the constantly changing ensemble strikes a perfect balance between rawness and technicality on the 9 detailed, bizarre compositions that make up Cataclysm.

Since 1996’s Revenge album (Skin Graft Records), the Flying Luttenbachers’ musical output has been underlined by a gradually unravelling storyline concerning the self-obliteration of the planet Earth and the resulting aftermath. Catclysm concerns an interstellar battle between two monolithic entities: The Void (a dark, silent spectre detailed on 2004’s album of the same name) and The Iridescent Behemoth (a massive planetoid being whose tale was told on 2003’s mindbogglingly complex Systems Emerge From Complete Disorder album). The music energetically utilizes deliberate harmonic dissonance and the material operates on a principle of intelligent transformation of concise amounts of interrelated themes. From the puzzlingly thorny maze-like title track, to the Webernian blast-beat marathon of “The Elimination of Incompetence”; the stark and arrhythmic guitar pyrotechnics of “From Oblivion” to the epic 15 minute Weasel Walter solo composition “Regime”, listeners will be sent on a challenging journey of intense, modern, unclassifiable rock music.

Flying Luttenbachers were formed by Weasel Walter in late 1991. The band has featured a constantly shifting cast of notable musicians from free jazz and experimental rock realms including Ken Vandermark (Vandermark 5, etc.), Fred Lonberg-Holm (Peter Brotzmann Tentet, etc.), Kurt Johnson (Lozenge, Gaping Maw), Hal Russell (NRG Ensemble), Jeb Bishop (Vandermark 5, etc.), Alex Perkolup (Cheer-Accident) and Jonathan Hischke (Hella).

Weasel Walter (first name/last name), the leading force behind The Flying Luttenbachers, has been hailed by renegade guitar army general Glenn Branca as “one of the greatest rock composers who ever lived” in a recent interview. Mr. Walter has performed with many other groups and musicians including Erase Errata, XBXRX, Lake Of Dracula, Jim O’Rourke, Bobby Conn and Kevin Drumm in addition to an ongoing committment to improvised music, lately performing with luminaries like Henry Kaiser and William Winant. He has produced seminal records for Arab On Radar, The Coachwhips, Total Shutdown and Burmese in addition to the dozens he’s played on.

The Flying Luttenbachers have toured Europe four times and the US extensively. Past touring mates have included The Locust (Epitaph), Arab On Radar (Skin Graft), Lightning Bolt (Load), U.S. Maple (Drag City), Erase Errata (TMU), Bobby Conn (Thrill Jockey), and Wolf Eyes (Sub Pop).

During 2006-7 the band (featuring Walter, Green, Rodriguez and new touring member Rob Pumpelly on guitar) will continue to tour though the major US cities.

In addition to Cataclysm, the group has recorded 14 other influential albums for the Troubleman Unlimited, Skin Graft, Pandemonium, Mountain Collective, Quinnah and Coat-Tail labels. The Flying Luttenbachers will release a live DVD later in 2006 on ugEXPLODE.



to write a review


Infection and Decline has always been my favorite Luttenbachers album,but Cataclysm kicks ass just the same! Cool chaotic parts, great themes, pure apocalypse, good music for dancing like morons. The new version of Elimination of Incompetence might even be better than the old one. The only thing that sucks is the obviously programmed drum kit on Regime pt1...

aquarius records

holy crap! instumental insanity . . .
Holy crap. This is the Luttenbachers' fourteenth (we think) album release, the follow-up to 2004's The Void. Their instrumental insanity features as always drummer extraordinare Weasel Walter (Lake Of Dracula/Hatewave), this time assisted by these three equally high-level technicians: on guitars Ed Rodriguez (Gorge Trio/Colossamite/Iceburn) and Mick Barr (Ocrilim/Octis/Orthrelm/Crom Tech), and on bass Mike Green (Burmese). Together they're an unstoppable frenzied skronk attack, pulling stop-start ADD fretboard and percussive maneuvers off in their own blackened jazz sci-fi galaxy... It's like (heck, it is) metallic mathrockers practicing their scales, ensemble style, amidst a barrage of ominous dirge. The appropriate response at the end of each piece can only be "Whew!". If you haven't heard the Luttenbachers before (or only their earlier material with jazz horns and not so much electric guitar), but do like Mick Barr's various bands, you will like this -- Barr fans needn't hesitate!!
The song titles are ever so appropriate: "Demonic Velocities", "Insektoid Horror", "The Elimination Of Incompetence"... They are masters of their realm, that's for sure. And their special brand of heaviness is one that can go from a punishing rocker like "Interstellar War" into the relative calm and beauty of "Movement Four Of L'Ascension" (yes, an Olivier Messiaen cover).
By the way, despite the lack of lyrics, this is a concept album, just like their last few releases. Have you been following along, and learning the future fate of the Earth? No? Well don't say they didn't warn you...